Getting my chin painted red....

Yamma~Tiger

Reaction score
Visit site
So I bought a fiberglass belly pan with mounting hardware for $80. Thats the DR403 belly pan. It should be here sometime next week. Now The pan comes unpainted, and I have no experience in painting, but My uncle does, he has his own equipment and I trues him, He is the kind of person who takes a lot of pride in his work, and will re-do something 100 times if he has to to get it right. So I asked him and he said yes. But I decide to contact some local body shops and check their prices.... here is the results....

Shop one:

ME:"I was wondering if you would be able to paint a belly pan for a sport bike. Its a 2007 Yamaha FZ6. I just ordered the pan. Its gel coated fiber glass. I have also included a picture of the bike. The Yamaha color code is 0918..... but you may want to double check that. I just want the pan to match the tank and front faring. How much would it cost? how long would it take? also where are you located?"

Reply: "Hi Andre,

What an interesting situation we have.... so it's a little more
expensive than it would normally be.

The local bodywork and paint places don't carry or mix the paint you need,
because from the factory it's water based paints which requires a whole lot of
setup to even spray.

The only place to get paint for your bike is online, and it's $124 /pint
Your paint is a tri-coat color, which means it has a base color, and what
they call a mid coat color. Usually the base is the main color, and the mid coat is
the pearl.
This means you need 2 pints of paint - 1 pint base, and 1 pint mid coat ($250) plus the $15 shipping

I would be supplying the clearcoat and reducer as part of my price.

Sooo.. for this job, I would do it for $375
I would need $265 up front to pay for the paint however,
and then the remaining balance upon satisfactory completion.

Let me know if I can be of service
Thanks!

Shop #2:

I asked the same question as I did shop 1.

Shop 2 Reply: