FZ6 v. DL 650 (V-Strom)

A

Aggietaco

First off, I've been lurking here for a few months and made a few posts, but I'm getting to the point where I need something to play with.

I've only ridden for about 2 years, on a Yamaha xv920j, while in school. I picked up the bike for the quick commute to and from class and fell in love with the thing. When I graduated and moved to Austin, I decided I shouldn't be riding in this city so I sold it off... :(

So, now a year later, I put my rock crawling hobby on hold until I could really afford what I wanted to do, sold off my project '84 4Runner and decided I needed another hobby to fill the gap and give me something to tinker with. Add my sorrow for selling my first bike and gas prices, and voila, back into biking.

Basically, I've narrowed my search down from an SV650, FZ6, DL650 and the F650GS to the FZ6 and the Strom. I've sat on both, though it's been a while and both feel like a confortable bike. Both have HUGE cult followings, both have great support from the aftermarket, and both usually elicit the same answers when asked which is the better bike, depending on which board you ask on ;).

So, have any of you ridden both, have friends that ride a DL650, etc? Realistically, I think they both would make a great bike for commuting and the occasional Saturday trip to the hill country, but I'm anal about decisions and don't want to regret purchasing the lesser bike. As of now, the only edge I've found is that the DL650 is offered in an ABS version in 2007, though they are extremely tuff to find used. As far as pricing, they seem pretty comparable, with a slight edge going to the FZ6 for being priced around $400-600 cheaper.

Comments?

Last edited by a moderator:

taki

Reaction score
Visit site