Carb vs. Fuel Injection

KindredGhost

Reaction score
Visit site
Heya Party Peoples,
So I haven't posted in close to 8 months because I'm spending entirely way to much to riding around. Good times. Anyway, onto business...

I'm thinking about stepping up to a fz1, and found a good deal on a fz1 circa 2003. Only issue is that it's carbed. That being said, are there any major advantages to going FI?

Let a brother know,
KG

Crotalus

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm no expert, but...as I understand it, fuel injection is more fuel efficient. This is because FI does a better job of providing the optimum amount of fuel for the outside conditions (altitude and temp). I believe FI is acutally requires less maintenance.
The downside to FI is that it is more expensive to work on and more complex.

xj750_Pete

Young Rider
Reaction score
Visit site
A few drawbacks of carbs is that they:
1) require a "choke" or an enrichment circuit when started on cold mornings
2) parts can become dirty and require cleaning
3) tuning can be time consuming with aftermarket jets/needles or even with just periodic maintenance (float levels, idle air/fuel mixture, etc)

But other than that, once they warm up, I think they perform just as good as fuel injection. As a matter of fact, I actually found my old Maxim to be smoother off the line than the snatchy fuel injected FZ6. On the other hand, on the Kawasaki ZX6R, the fuel injection is very very smooth as well, so I guess it depends on how advanced the fuel injection system is.

The Pheasant

Reaction score
Visit site
Plus one on the above. There is some evidence that a motor with carbs is more economical than a comparable motor with FI; seems to be the case with the various models of Fireblade and R1 for example, going by reports.
On the other hand, modern injection systems seem to be completely reliable in all conditions. I call that an advantage.

Bruce McCrary

RDY2GO!
Reaction score
rdytogo.blogspot.com