Advice wanted for track day virgin

NorcoT

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey all, having been a keen rider for 3 years now I am looking to do my first track day, I have my 2 piece leathers now and I am just looking at which track to go to. I currently have an FZ6 so it should be great fun on a track, anyone have some experience of taking one on the track?

Track wise I am looking at Castlecombe or Silverstone, silverstone looks more attractive with better facilities, better track with more space, not to mention for the same price you get more track time. But Castlecombe is a lot closer for me. Any one experienced on either or both that can give some advice?

Lastly, I've been riding 600cc bikes for three years now, an xj600 diversion and an fz6, keeping this in mind I plan to book into a novice / beginner session, does anyone have any good advice for a track virgin?

greg

UK Luchador
Reaction score
Visit site
tbh I thought you got less tracktime at silerstone, as they ran more groups, so you only got 15mins per hour, instead of the usual 20mins.

castle combe might have noise issues, but should be no problem if you have a standard exhaust.

if you aren't planning on using tyre warmers then either should be fine, I think CC is a bit smaller, so might be more fun

if you have a centre stand on then you probably want to take that off, the side stand scrapes next after that.

i've taken my fz6 on track a couple of times, but now I have a dedicated track bike

Hellgate

Moto Demi-God
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Have fun, listen to your instructors, do what they say, and remember it isn't a race.

lonesoldier84

SuperFlanker Moderator
Premium Member
Reaction score
Visit site
You will find you are a MUCH better rider when you can focus on just your riding.

But do take note that as the day carries on and you get increasingly comfortable, keep something in the bag. Don't feel as though you have to run at your absolute quickest just because you are on a racetrack.