Coolant

richierambler

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey folks.

I quickly need to preempt my question with an admission that I am not a very mechanical owner so i may appear a bit daft. I am enjoying the process of learning however.

That said, I am looking through the manual pre-ride checks and am getting to grips with all the necessities but i am troubled a little by the coolant issue; fortunately, the bike was serviced before I took delivery so I dont need to do anything drastic.

The manual shows that you take the seat off and then you can get easy access to the coolant filler cap to fill when necessary. No I cant. The filler cap is well and truly obscured by other structures and it appears to be impossible to remove the cap and to top up the coolant without removing the petrol tank, and as such, fairing, which would stop me doing this straight forwardly.

Secondly, why should I fill the coolant reservoir and not the radiator directly (which I might add is also covered by fairing and would be only slightly easier to fill). When I do get access, what is the standard coolant that I should use? Products available in the UK would be best.

Seems so odd that there must be a rational explanation. Over to the experts......:don'tknow::eyebrow:

reiobard

Samurai FZ Soldier
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
what year is your bike? the 07+'s seem very easy, is there a chance that someone put a different radiator on your bike?

You can fill the reservoir if there is coolant in the bike, but if the radiator is empty then you cannot, if the rad is full then it will have vacuum pressure inside to pull coolant in from the reservoir, if empty then there is no vacuum.

I have always used standard coolant, but i know of a few people that sweat by a product called "Water Wetter" but i am not sure if that is available in the UK.

Raid The Revenge

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi!