10W30 or 10W40?

pugs24

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey everyone, I just got onto an 07 FZ6. I was getting ready to do my first oil change and got a bit confused on what oil to use. According to my owner's manual, I need to use Yamalube 4 or 10W30. After browsing a lot of these threads, like the DIY oil change thread, people are suggesting 10W40. What would be the difference? Should I be using one over the other?

Sorry if this is such a dumb question, still figuring out how to do all of this maintenance on my own. I appreciate anyone who can respond!

mikw73

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I am not an oil expert, but my understanding is that an oil with a heavier warm weight is better for older engines, and not bad for a newer engine, but may slightly reduce efficiency. Feel free to correct me in that if I'm mistaken. Also, it is important not to use oil with friction modifiers - car oil. The JASO-MA certification indicates that there are no friction modifiers. They're not good for machines with wet clutches.

megatronixs

Reaction score
Visit site
I like this question because i have the same question =D

I would like to use mobile 1 10w40 or 30 but I've seen a lot of people use yamalube, I would rather go with mobile 1 because its more accessible then yamalube but my question is am I hurting my bike but not useing yamalube?

pugs24

Reaction score
Visit site
I like this question because i have the same question =D

I would like to use mobile 1 10w40 or 30 but I've seen a lot of people use yamalube, I would rather go with mobile 1 because its more accessible then yamalube but my question is am I hurting my bike but not useing yamalube?