Welding machine help

fazil

Reaction score
Visit site
I need a welding machine to build a shad to my garden.
I'll use 3mm box metal profiles.
I found an affordable 130 Amp inverter welding machine.
Brand name: Fimer X134 (max electrode diameter is 2.5mm)
Is it enough for welding 3mm profile?

FO,2460,24,fimer-x-134-mma-inverter-kaynak-makinesi-kaynak-makineleri-fimer.JPG

I have no experience with welding by the way.

Last edited:

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
http://www.fimer.com/uk/download/catalogo2009.pdf

I could not find that model but it looks like what we would refer to as an ARC welder. Some call them a Stick welder as you weld with metal type filler rod that burns away into the weld with flux like substance around it.

Off hand, this it not the easy technique to learn and can be highly unfriendly welding vertically or upside down. The thinner the metal gets, the harder it is to keep from burning it up. 0.125" (2.8mm) steel can be challenge with an ARC welder. Meaning LOTS of PRACTICE. Its not something most people just do in 15 minutes of practice. Yet, Increase the metal thickness to 0.25" and many stand a fair chance of being successful on flat surface. Vertical will be a challenge...

Begin by confirming your power source (house power) matches the device requirements. Here residential power is Single Phase, 120V AC but there are two such lines to every home. Effectively giving us 240V AC Single phase with a disconnect of 200 - 300 Amps at the panel.