Rusty Chain

Hills

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi All

I'm a newbie here and to the FZ6 Fazer so be gentle. ;)

I bought my new FZ6 Fazer from a UK dealer about 9 weeks ago. I have since done 600 miles (mostly dry ones) and had the 6 week (or 600 mile) service at 430 miles.

The bike is like new, always cleaned, polished, Scottoiler FS 365'd and the chain lubed. I have read may times about R6 and Fazer chains and sprockets prematurely rusting here in the UK but I didn't expect my chain to rust quite so fast! The sprocket is still rust free but the chain is covered in fine rust. It's not for want of lubing either.

I have bought (but not used) some Paraffin to clean the chain, is this a good idea? I have also read here that WD40 is good for getting rust off of the chain? Can anyone advise the best way to get the fine rust off and the best chain lube here in the UK to slow it's return?

Thanks guy for your help. I'm fairly new to Biking, my only regret is not passing my test when I was younger! I'm 39 and live for my next Fazer ride. I love the bike!

Thanks again...
Hills

Last edited:
Take a wire brush and some kerosene to it, the rust will come right off. After that, just lube her up normally and make sure you keep her that way. Should stem any further rusting.

Well,- I know I'm gonna start a major discussion now (and properly get yelled at a bit :)), but I use WD40 to clean my chain.
I make sure to wipe it off real good after cleaning, and then I apply my wax type lube.

I know of several R6 owners that ONLY use WD40 for their chains, both for cleaning and for lubing, but to be on the safe side I wipe it off and lube with my wax lube instead.

The main concerns with WD40 is weather or not it degrades the O-rings in the chain, - a discussion that I don't think will ever end :)

Cheers Both for the quick answers and the warm welcome!

Another quick on topic question - Is Yamalube (chain loob) any good as a product?

Thanks
Hills