Problems with Exhaust Removal

brendanb

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi all,

Fairly new to modding and maintaining my own bike, trying to learn as I go and largely tis going well
But now this week I went at the exhaust to swap out my stock one for a Dominator model I've purchased.
When I was removing the plastic fairing mold around the exhaust I came to a pair of screws underneath the exhaust pointed down towards the rear wheel.
The screw heads immediately stripped themselves when I tried to remove them and they won't budge even marginally.
I know there are such things as screw extractors and I'm fairly confident I can manage to use them.

Essentially my question is this, is there any reason I need to be cautious or that I can't or shouldn't use such a method to remove the screws?
Such as a washer or nut on the other side of the screws?
As I said, I'm fairly new to this sort of thing so apologies if I missed something obvious.

My bike is a 2009 FZ6 S2 as in my avatar pic

Any help is welcome
Thanks!

P.s. I did try looking through the forum for anyone with this issue to avoid overlapping but I couldn't find anything relavant

Edit: I've just realised this is in the wrong place, I can't see how to move it :/

Last edited:

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
:welcome: Brendan!

https://www.ronayers.com/oemparts/a/yam/50046c72f8700209bc796c34/exhaust