New owner - 2006 FZ6S

xjokux

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey all

Im johno, I've just bought a 2006 FZ6S lastnight. Coming from a 1991 FZR600 sports bike. I yet still have alot to get used to - cornering mainly but I'm loving the upright position so much more comfortable!

I wouldn't mind doing a little bit of work to this bike so what would be the first move?

With supporting mods:
- Scorpion twin undertail exhaust
- Oggy Knobs
- K & N air filter
- Fender eliminator
- Clear indicators
- Bridgestone BT016 rear

I will post pictures tomorrow.

Kriswithak

Reaction score
Visit site
Nice stuff! It looks good.

Does it have a PCIII or PCV installed? With the scorps and KN Filter thats a good choice that will get the most out of those.

xjokux

Reaction score
Visit site
Im still new to the bike world as I'm a car enthusiast. I'm guessing the your referring to the ecu? Im not sure but how can I check? What is the difference in the two?

Also is there an online/pdf workshop manual?

The bike sounds fantastic! On idle it rumble and riding it roars definitely a head turner. :thumbup:

Kriswithak

Reaction score
Visit site
Yep the power commander is a piggyback unit for tuning/fueling, III is the older one specifically for the older FZ6's, the PCV (5) is the newest one, that is meant for the 2010 model, but works with the older ones from what I have heard.
Once you start doing heavy modding (aftermarket exhaust and filter onwards) its generally recommended to get it all tuned up. That being said I haven't bothered yet and its not a huge issue, but would probably be worthwhile.

To see if one is connected just lift the seat up and check underneath, it will be stowed somewhere under there. I may be wrong but I am pretty sure they are universal with different leads, so its likely it would have been removed if the owner didn't mention it particularly since it can be used in other bikes or sold second hand!