Is This Uneven Idle?

Pickax

Fasta Bloo... and Black
Reaction score
Visit site
This is a total nOOb question and I'm even more ashamed that I didn't find it under the search function but here it goes:

After my 2005 FZ6 warms up and the first bar of the tachometer stops blinking, it idles around 1320. However, it doesn't stay there long at all. It regularly jumps between 1320 to 1380 and slightly less often to 1440. Is this normal?

The changes happen probably about every two seconds. It happens no matter what I set the idle at (keeping it between 1250 and 1350 per the manual). I'm not used to having a digital tachometer like this so it's the first I really thought of it.

This may be totally normal. I'm just wondering.

Thanks!

Oscar54

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
This is a total nOOb question and I'm even more ashamed that I didn't find it under the search function but here it goes:

After my 2005 FZ6 warms up and the first bar of the tachometer stops blinking, it idles around 1320. However, it doesn't stay there long at all. It regularly jumps between 1320 to 1380 and slightly less often to 1440. Is this normal?

The changes happen probably about every two seconds. It happens no matter what I set the idle at (keeping it between 1250 and 1350 per the manual). I'm not used to having a digital tachometer like this so it's the first I really thought of it.

This may be totally normal. I'm just wondering.

Thanks!

Yes it is totally normal. My bike does the same thing. I hear no oscillation in the engine sound yet the tachometer goes back and forth around 60 rpm's. I just assume that this is due to the digital tach not being capable of 1 rpm increments. 60 rpms is 1 rps a pretty fine unit of measure. Analog tach's are not accurate to 60 rpms.

Hope this helps.

D

Deleted member 2349