How to install a 12volt outlet on your fz6.

mrutledge

'Georgia rider'
Reaction score
Visit site
For the record, I'm not a professional, nor am I trying to give any professional advice. I did this because I was bored and I knew how to do it. Don't sue me if you try this, cross something up, and deep fry your bike...I'm man enough to say..
I'm stupid, don't copy me...
Now that being said, I did this today, and it works great. It only took about 45 minutes and cost around 8 bucks, or a little more if you don't have wiring or wire connectors.
I did the same thing on a 06 gsxr 600 and It worked great for 2 years and as far as I know it still works.. (I Sold the bike, so only God knows where it is now)

And for the record..If you leave something plugged into it and turn the bike off and leave and come back and your bike is dead...don't blame me...you should have remembered to unplug it.

DrewT86

Reaction score
Visit site
LOL, I'd blame you except I installed mine before you joined :p

Btw you can solve the problem of draining your battery pretty easily. Auto-zone sells some cheap 4 wire relays that are normally open if you hook it up to the headlight on the control side, and on the contacts hook up your positive for the 12v socket, it will only be powered when your headlight is on, aka when the bike is running.

Last edited:

DavidG-757

Reaction score
Visit site
I was just considering doing the same thing. I was looking to find a bracket with 3 inlets so I can keep my phone and gps powered due to lack of lasting battery in each. Would you say that the drain on the battery from these is minimal? as long as I only keep them plugged in while im moving of course.
update-- just saw drew's reply so that works too haha

fb40dash5

Reaction score
Visit site
I'd also recommend adding a ~10A fuse and holder on the positive wire, to prevent the aforementioned deep frying!

(OK, the wires would probably just melt before catching the bike on fire, but better to be safe.)

Reed