Hopeful new FZ owner soon with a few questions

chenceza

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm new to riding, took the MSF course and loved it as I expected I would, got my M1, and now am in the market for a ride. After spending a number of hours in shops sitting on different bikes, and reading everything in this awesome forum, I've decided I definitely want a FZ6, 2007 or later.

I had a couple of questions, would appreciate any input. I understand that I'm trying to buy this in the "busy" season, but I'd still like to get the best deal possible.

Question 1: How many miles is reasonable for a used bike? As in, how many miles do these engines last for, assuming it hasn't been raced, stunted, etc.? If the seller is saying just normal commuting and occasional weekend riding. I've seen some that have 15K miles...is that too many?

Question 2: How much should I expect to pay for a 2007 to 2008 with up to a few thousand miles? I've seen some listed for $4000, all the way up to $6000. Assuming all of these are similar condition...

Question 3: Should I expect to be able to negotiate a lot for a 2009 brand new bike, given the dealers are only getting FZ6Rs now? A relatively local dealer has one on cycletrader for $6K, also saw a dealer in SoCal for $5K. But many dealers are still listing $7K, or near MSRP.

Again, any thoughts on any of these would be greatly appreciated. Thanks and look forward to talking more in this forum!

dxh24

Ambitious But Rubbish
Reaction score
Visit site
:welcome: to the forum!

Personally if there was a new (0 miles) FZ6 here in NY in a dealership i'd jump on that asap.... hard to find a used one with less than 10k on it under 5 grand around where i live, dunno what the markets like in Cali though.

RJ2112

Reaction score
www.etsy.com
Welcome to the forum.