Glazed discs?

dbldutch02

Reaction score
Visit site
My front discs are a bit glazed, affecting braking.

Pads and discs still have plenty of meat on them so I'd like to save them if I can - is this possible?

My inclination is to scuff the discs and pads with some 800grit wet and dry, lube up the calipers and see what happens - feedback please!

Kevin

**edit** How do I prevent it happening again? I don't think I'm too gentle or too harsh with the brakes, but I'm a noob so could be wrong. Could the pads be time expired?

Last edited:

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Try to keep your pads organized so that they go back to the location they came from.
800 grit is much too fine. Use some 220 wet or dry sand paper if you're going to wet sand them. Sand in a crosshatch manner. The pads can be cleaned up by laying a piece of 150 grit sand paper on a very flat surface and laying the pad face down on the paper and again a crosshatch motion just enough to clean off the glaze.

After reassembly there will be a need to reseat the pads to the disc so you will have very little braking. Be cautious and go easy on the brakes at first or you'll reglaze them.

FinalImpact

2 Da Street, Knobs R Gone
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Can you give some details on how this impacts braking? What does it do/not do and how it feels, etc?

How do the discs look? brown, blue, black?
Are you running the OEM pad?
Does the wheel spin freely making at least 2+ revolutions if spun by hand while nose is elevated?

Post # 30 has some rotor pics... PS - I'm kinda hard on brakes --> Rotor pics here...

A quick how too on brake bleeding. Air in the lines keeps the pads/pistons from retracting and they drag. --->> Brake Bleeding 101

dbldutch02

Reaction score
Visit site
Can you give some details on how this impacts braking? What does it do/not do and how it feels, etc?

How do the discs look? brown, blue, black?