Future FZ6 owner here, chiming in from Afghanistan!

EMAN44

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello to everyone on the forums from beautiful Afghanistan :rolleyes: Being on deployment with my Guard unit, when I'm not on mission, I have some time to plan and dream for my homecoming and after talking to my wife she's agreed to let me buy my first motorcycle when I get home.

Besides some experience on a few dirt bikes and even a scooter that I rode around for a month in Germany, I have no real street experience on a real bike. Before I get chastised for getting a 600CC sportbike as my first ride, be aware that due to my size I cannot fit on just any ole' bike. I am 6'7'' 245lbs, and I realize that my size limits me on a lot of bikes that I can start off on.

From what I've been researching online, I've come to the realization that I will not fit on a 250 all that well. The bikes that I've had my eye on have been the FZ6 (that's why I'm here!), the SV650N, and the Wee Strom. Without sitting on any of these bikes, I don't know which I'll fit on the most comfortably but I'd have to say that due to the size the Wee Strom would be the best. Only thing, I absolutely do NOT like how the Wee Strom looks...I love the way the naked bikes look, especially the FZ6 with the India/Streetfighter conversion.

Now, when I get back home, I do plan on taking the MSL course as well as the mandatory course from the military, and I do plan on not hitting the road for a while. I have a enormous church parking lot behind my house that I plan on spending countless hours getting comfortable with the bike before I hit the road (not literally hitting the road ;) )