Exhaust Mod Question!

fazer117

Reaction score
Visit site
So today I fired up my bike to go to class and head out towards the highway. I'm doing the limit in the center lane when out of the blue a pickup truck just cuts me off and gets in my lane. I got to brake soon enough, preventing any accident... (thank God).

This incident got me thinking, and I have decided to make my bike LOUDER! :rockon:

I was looking around online to see for a suitable exhaust system and I found some that both looked and sound great... but the real question is the $... I'm a college student and at this point I cant afford to buy a $550~+ system, so I'm thinking about just putting straight pipes on my bike like this dude:

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTTK2vlAkHg]YouTube - FZ6 w/ straight pipes test run[/ame]

The setup this guy has cost him around $50 (flex pipe, tips). The sound of the straight pipes sounds KILLER in my opinion.

What are the pro's and con's of a straight pipe setup?

Are the pro's > con's?

I'd like to hear some opinions before doing any sort of modification on the exhaust on my bike :Flash:

Kriswithak

Reaction score
Visit site
Don't get an exhaust just to be more audible, you might get lucky and it might have that effect but relying on it is just asking for trouble.

If you butcher your standard pipes and get defaulted your in for trouble, might be an idea to try and get a second hand set and rip the guts out.
Otherwise if your looking at a proper aftermarket exhaust thats just the price you pay. Worth it too if you ask me, but I just saved for a while for mine.
Also videos can be a bit inaccurate at actually showing the note your going to get and the volume, but I'd say from that video as a straight through that exhaust is extremely loud, which probably means you'll draw attention, and not always the good sort.