Ear Plugs, Headsets, Ear Buds, Noise Cancellation?

ejether

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey all, I'm kinda new to the touring thing and so with most of the riding I've done I've had ear buds in and music, or empty ears wishing I'd remembered to bring ear plugs.

I've seen lots of recommendations for the Sena Bluetooth headsets to connect with my iPhone for music, calls and GPS nav but what about noise? The Sena are just speakers you stick in there, but does noise cancellation prevent hearing damage?

I've found with just ear buds, sometimes I need to turn them up so loud just to hear that I worry about long term noise exposure, but then I also worry about it with the wind noise.

Thanks!

Signal 50

Reaction score
Visit site
I use these Comply Comply Foam tips. You order them based on what ear buds you currently have. They are foam tips that replace the tips on your current ear buds. The great thing about them is that you can roll them up just like you would do a standard ear plug. When the foam expands in your ear, it seals your ear. This allows you to keep ambient noise out and music levels at a reasonable volume. I can't say enough good things about them.

MrMogensen

... That's me!
Reaction score
Visit site
Hey all, I'm kinda new to the touring thing and so with most of the riding I've done I've had ear buds in and music, or empty ears wishing I'd remembered to bring ear plugs.

I've seen lots of recommendations for the Sena Bluetooth headsets to connect with my iPhone for music, calls and GPS nav but what about noise? The Sena are just speakers you stick in there, but does noise cancellation prevent hearing damage?

I've found with just ear buds, sometimes I need to turn them up so loud just to hear that I worry about long term noise exposure, but then I also worry about it with the wind noise.

Thanks!

A bluetooth set + regular earplugs works just fine.