Dirt Bike Beginner

TripNip

Men of Mayhem
Reaction score
Visit site
I wanna try out a bit of offroading, theres a small abandoned wood behind my house and I want to tear it up on a dirt bike. I've never tried anything like this before and I want to know what would be suitable.

Want to do it cheaply but I guess my real question is... Would a 125 Pit Bike be too small and weak? I mean I know nothing about this kind of thing but would I be wanting more than that?

New MXB 125cc Pit Bike/Dirt Bike/ATV/Motorcross | eBay

This is what I'm looking at.

Is this just a kids bike?

I'm 5"10 and very roughly 80kg

GTPAddict

Just a dude with an FZ6
Reaction score
theblattners.com
You don't want a pit bike. They are way too small for a grown man. I bought one for my 7 year old, it's a good size for him. You'd be able to ride it, but it's not made so much for running off road but for getting around in the pits at a race track. They make them small so they take less room, and put a big engine on so it can pull a grown man.

That being said, the one pic that kinda lets you judge the size make them look bigger. Do you know how tall they are?

TripNip

Men of Mayhem
Reaction score
Visit site
30" seat from the floor

So your saying this wouldn't be fun/wouldnt handle green laning and would be underpowered with my weight?

Any suggestions to what I get instead? I just figured they'd be nice and light for when you fall off.

greg

UK Luchador
Reaction score
Visit site
a 125 will be fine for off roading, usually they have a massive rear sprocket and bags of torque, anythign more than a 250 would probably be too powerful to begin with i suspect

i'd look for a proper full sized bike though, expect them have taken a few falls

when i did the the motocross day a few weeks back we used kawasaki kx125's and 250's

callmegandhi

IM4TH
Reaction score
Visit site