Car garage fitting motorcycle tyres

bledubd

FZ6 Naked Epiphany
Reaction score
Visit site
Ok I do not have the equipment. I'd have done it myself.

Can I have my new tyres fitted at a garage that works with cage tyres? e.g. Kwik fit.

billm

Reaction score
Visit site
I have no experience w/this. I'd suggest asking a tire co. (whatever you're thinking of: Big "O", etc.?) if they can do it. If they say they can - take a chance, if you're willing .
Why do that tho' if you can get it done right at a motorcycle shop?

ANLR21

Master Blaster
Reaction score
Visit site
The technique for mounting a motorcycle tire is essentially the same as for a cager, but that's not the problem. It's the person using the equipment. Why would you want to trust your relatively brittle alloy wheels to someone who may never have done it before? Do they know how to balance a motorcycle tire? Needs to be done in two planes to do it right. Not worth the risk. Don't be a guinea pig for someone.

pedwards89

Reaction score
Visit site
Mate, I wouldn't let Kwik-fit anywhere near my bike. There are plenty of tyre dealers who supply & fit bike tyres, typically they are independent, use one of them.

Or take them to a bike dealer / repair shop. I'm guessing you've already bought the tyres & are looking for someone to fit them? All of the above will be happy to fit customer supplied tyres for a fee

madmanmaigret

Mad like crazy not angry
Reaction score
Visit site
I wouldn't trust anyone but an experienced motorcycle tire shop to do mine....... and I have the scratches on my wheel to show you why :(

Numpty

Reaction score
Visit site
Mate i personally would go to a bike shop they will take more care with your wheels.You must have been to get rubber put on your car and seen how they throw the rims around. If they do that to your bike rims what they going end up looking like :eek:

Gary

steveindenmark

Older Member
Reaction score
Visit site

bledubd

FZ6 Naked Epiphany
Reaction score
Visit site