Brakes... won't brake

ihavereverb

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey guys, so this is actually for my girlfriend's bike (1979 Kawasaki KZ400), the forum for that thing has been dead for like 2 years though, and this place has such smart folks ;)

We bought this bike and I thought it would be easy to get back on the road, and I've been kicking myself in the ass for the last 3 months.

My most recent project/problem is trying to get the front brakes to work. I have a vacuum pump and speed bleeders on there, and I must have pumped through 15 gallons of fluid. I just can't get any pressure, and I keep getting bubbles. I don't see any obvious leaks anywhere, though, which makes me think it might be the master cylinder needing a rebuild?

Is there a way for me to test that theory out without buying a rebuild kit first?

Also, here's a curveball: I had the brakes working a week ago, they were just soft. So I tried to stiffen them up with my vacuum pump (built a bunch of pressure, then opened the bleeder), but that only caused them to go completely soft and I haven't been able to get them back since. If there's a leak or something, wouldn't this have been impossible?

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
If you've done a lot of bleeding and you still have air with no braking then I would suspect the piston is seized. If you manually bleed the bike using the master cylinder then you should have some idea to it's operation. Bleeder open and the lever should just sink and have no pressure. Bleeder closed and you should have lever resistance. If that's operational you have a problem in the caliper and will probably want to rebuild it. Since that's a single rotor you want that brake at the top of it's game. Unless you still have a lot of air trapped in the system?

ihavereverb

Reaction score
Visit site