Bent handle bars

Mr_Green

Reaction score
Visit site
I noticed today that my handle bars were slightly out of line. Like very slightly. But it’s definitely bothersome when just sitting on it.

I am a beginner so I’m wondering if anyone had any handle bar suggestions? I don’t really know what I like just yet so any suggestions would be great. I saw they had the oem handle bars for $37 and figured I might just go with that for ease of installation.

I attached a photo of where the left side of the bar is bent and the paint kinda chipped away.

isaw Some other threads discussing other bars to use (like R1 bars) but I’m not sure if that will be beginner friendly.

Attachments

• 882F70D4-4FEC-4242-8EA2-3BC6CD00E0DE.jpeg
    882F70D4-4FEC-4242-8EA2-3BC6CD00E0DE.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 25

trepetti

It's all good!
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Hard to tell if they are bent in the pic.

Personally, I installed a bar from a FZ1. It is flat (no rise) and they are straight at the ends. The grips do not angle back. i find these more comfortable for my wrists.

There are lots of choices, but some general advice, get steel bars not aluminum. Steel bars do a better job of dampening vibrations than aluminum, and lord knows the FZ6 can generate some nasty vibes.

Mr_Green

Reaction score
Visit site
Hard to tell if they are bent in the pic.

Personally, I installed a bar from a FZ1. It is flat (no rise) and they are straight at the ends. The grips do not angle back. i find these more comfortable for my wrists.

There are lots of choices, but some general advice, get steel bars not aluminum. Steel bars do a better job of dampening vibrations than aluminum, and lord knows the FZ6 can generate some nasty vibes.

gotcha. I see some FZ1 handle bars that are straight that I like. Will I need to get 1” risers for it? And will I have to drill a hole in the bar for the shut off switch?

trepetti

It's all good!
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site