Advice for first time buyer

mjmelancon

Reaction score
Visit site
Ever since I first laid eyes on a FZ6 about 5 years ago, I knew that was the perfect bike for me. First off, they look killer. Plus they have plenty of power, (a liter bike would definitely be overkill for me, at least for now), and their seating position if perfect for my 6’4” 235lb frame. Compared to all the other bikes I’ve sat on, the FZ6 is definitely one of the most comfortable and one I can see myself riding for many hours at a time.

Anyway, within the next couple of months I’ll be in the market for one of these sweet bikes. My ideal FZ would be a 2007, preferably with the Electric Blue paint. I have a few questions I hope some of you guys could help me with since I’m a newbie when it comes to buying used bikes.

1. When dealing with used bikes, what should I be looking for as far as cosmetic and mechanical defects? And do dealers or shops offer inspections that could help me spot any major problems? If so, is it worth it and how much do they usually charge?

2. Are there any mods that I should stay away from? (frame sliders, dual headlight conversion, and exhaust are pluses in my book).

3. I checked NADA and the price range for an ’07 is between $3100 and $4100, but I’ve seen some people asking $4500+. What price is beyond reasonable given the mileage, and how many miles is too many?

Sorry for the lengthy post and I appreciate all comments.

Last edited:

Geoff

The Tall Guy!
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
1. I'm not sure on charges, cosmetics is pretty straight forward. Most used bikes will have some or minor scratches. Mine had a few here and there. The big question is, has it been dropped and millage. Some bikes are ridden harder than others, some are not. Most people keep up with oil changes and what not on bike whether they are stunters, cruisers, etc. I think you will be safe either way.