520 chain benefits?????

Big Matt

Reaction score
Visit site
Newbie here, did a search! What is the reason for going to a 520 chain and sprocket, from the 530???

VEGASRIDER

100K Mile Member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Great questions and great answers so far guys, but........

Why didn't it just come wth a 520 to begin with?

RJ2112

Reaction score
www.etsy.com
What is the purpose of stronger chain if the frequency of changing spares is reduced?What gain can Yamaha and other chain maker get with 530?

If many models of Yamaha require the heavier 530 chain (liter bikes, etc.) then it becomes a matter of economic scale..... rather than buy a small volume of 520 and also 530 chain, it's more efficient to just buy one size.

Less money is spent by the company maintaining multiple parts lines.

Heavier chain, and thicker/stronger sprockets are almost certainly more durable than similar parts made of thinner materials. Routine maintenance is essential to getting the full 'life' out of either size components..... should equal maintenance and use occur, the 530 equipped unit will almost certainly outlast the 520 equipped unit.

When people start modifying their drive trains by changing over to the 520 setups, there are multiple points that can be mis-adjusted, or improperly installed. This will increase the rate of wear, and make for premature failure..... it's also true that most people who change the sprockets also change the ratios to increase RPM at a given ground speed.

Higher RPM also means higher HP.... which means accelerated wear compared to the base setup.... thinner parts combined with higher output, means faster wear.

Bryan-

Reaction score
Visit site
*Chain n00b alert* So a 520 chain is lighter then a 530 chain because it's thinner or because it's shorter? Omgomg I don't understand.. :eek:

RJ2112

Reaction score
www.etsy.com