2006 FZ6 Question

SpectreRX8

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey guys, this is my first time posting on the forums so I apologize if this isn't the specific place for this thread.

But, I'm looking to buy an FZ6 - I wanted the R, but not for the price to get them.I'm going to be using this as a casual commuter bike and weekend cruiser with a friend who has an SV650. But, I have a limited budget to work with.

The bike is on craigslist, it's a 2006 Metallic Red FZ6 with 19,900 miles. Im buying it from the original owner, it's registered till 2011 and has "had all maintenance done on the bike".He's originally wanted 3000, I offered 2500 due to the budget, and he countered with 2700.

Regardless of the $2500/2700 offers, is the bike worth buying for that much, with that many miles? What should I be on the look out for with these bikes (any known problems/issues)?

I've attached the only two photos available to me at the moment.

Any in all help, advise, or comments would be greatly appreciated - thanks.

$2700 isn't bad for an 06. I just bought my 2005 with 17k miles for $3000.

:welcome: Sounds like a great deal and in my personal opinion you would prefer this bike over the FZ6R:

http://www.600riders.com/forum/fz6-general-discussion/16980-buy-fz6.html
http://www.600riders.com/forum/fz6-news/29073-fz6r-review-light-fz6.html

Ditto, much better bike than the FZ6R. Better built and more power.

If it is stock, it isn't a bad bike to learn on. Very docile and tame under 5500 RPM and very rideable in that range. Goes like a raped ape from 6000 RPM up to 12,000 RPM. I just paid $4000 for an 05 but it had a lot of mods and 2,800 miles. It was / is basically a new bike.

I'd be surprised if your bike didn't hold it's value ($2500 or so) for the next few years. Bikes don't drop much below 2K if they are kept well. I just sold a 93' shadow for $2,300 about 2 months back.

$2700 is okay if the tire is okay.