de cat de baffle exhaust after needs

GravisMaximus

Reaction score
Visit site
hia, i plan on taking out the baffles in muffler and hollowing out the 3 cats for the little extra performance gain and some more noise. i have sevral questions and i am a auto tech so if your are a motorcycle tech please dont hesitat to go into detail, here goes.

1. i asked my local shop about the 02 sensor, wanted to know what it does (if its like a car pre cat o2 will try to compensate (pcm)fuel mixture for a rich /lean condition) he didnt know if it worked the same, So does it?

2. i have seen other posts that say i would need a power commander because of the lean condition i would be creating, ok... the o2/ pcm wont compensate enough then? I have seen another product befor hopefully you can point me to it, it was pretty much a resistor you put in line with your Iat (intake air temp) sensor to fool the pcm that it was really cold out, hence it would make your air fuel ratio richer. would this inline resistor be enough to keep me from running to lean, after the exhaust mods? i know i wouldnt gain the extra hp from the power commander but untill i got one, just dont want to burn up my valves.

3. lets say i did the exhaust mods and did nothing about a commander/ inline resistor, wouldnt it thou a check engine light due to the o2 sensor/block learn intergrater going fuel rich for a extened amount of time? and same question about the resistor, if i remember right it made the pcm see a -40 value, wouldnt that set a light to?

4. for anyone who has actually debaffled (not drilled) there muffler----what way cutting it open works best, in half or making a large hole on the top/bottom? are the pipes and baffles welded inside?

thanks in advance for your help, like i said i am a auto tech, trying to find out the theroy of the motorcycle side of pcm controls.
:thumbup:

lawlberg

Booth Babe
Reaction score
Visit site
As for number 4.