Noob track days?

why_not_Zoidberg?

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey guys, not sure if this is the right sub to post in, but here goes. I'm a novice rider (a little over a year riding, about 3k miles), and want to get better. I've read that going to track days is probably the best way to do this. My question is, what does one need to do to get ready for a track day? Do I bring my own bike? I've got an ex-500 that I'm rebuilding (close to finished) and recently got an '06 FZ. I think the closest one to where I live (northwest PA) is Mid-Ohio, and they do have novice classes, but their website wasn't so straightforward as to what I need to do/bring.

Thanks in advance!

greg

UK Luchador
Reaction score
Visit site
you can track most bikes, though supersports are obviously better designed for it

if they rent out bikes then that can make it a lot easier, but you will be on an unfamiliar bike, and if you are a novice and they put slicks on the bike you may struggle to keep the heat in them

essentials:
1 or 2 piece leathers that zip together
motorcycle boots (armoured)
leather gloves
back protector
helmet
over here you need to bring your licence (road or race)

useful stuff:
duct tape
spanners / tools
spare levers / pegs

there's probably plenty more that i can't think of right now

a track day school may be a more gentle introduction to tack riding, and give you a much better grounding. you can just go to a normal track day and there will be lots of people in your situation, but it may be a bit of a steeper learning curve

why_not_Zoidberg?

Reaction score
Visit site