help with throttle input through turns

joshfz6.2008

Reaction score
Visit site
went for a ride today and noticed that i was letting off of the throttle mid turn to correct my line a little. but with that comes the characteristics of the motorcycle which makes it want to stand up a little. should i trail brake more to scrub off a little speed and keep my throttle input steady? open for suggestion.

Josh

Kazza

Administrator aka Mrs Prebstar
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I'm still a newbie, but I tend to roll off the throttle slightly rather than braking, before the corner, then accelerate hard through it.

I don't hit the rear brake before a corner, and seldom need to touch the front brake.

Might not be right, but it's what I do.

joshfz6.2008

Reaction score
Visit site
when entering a turn i usually down shift and use rear brake (to me it helps keep the bike more staple when entering the turn) but on a couple of 25 mph turns i was running around 60 in third gear holding a steady speed and eased up on the throttle to get a little wider, i was just wondering if i should trail brake in that situation since the bike stands up a little when i let off the throttle

DaveOTZ

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm still a newbie, but I tend to roll off the throttle slightly rather than braking, before the corner, then accelerate hard through it.

I don't hit the rear brake before a corner, and seldom need to touch the front brake.

Might not be right, but it's what I do.

Thats what they teach in school and has never failed me, even in the "HS!! I'm not going to make this turn" moments. For keeping your bike upright you can't beat the laws of Physics. The additional centrifugal force that comes with acceleration pushes the rubber to the road.

I do downshift prior to the turn sometimes, just try to avoid 1st as 2nd is more forgiving in throttle control around the turns.

mabberley

Reaction score
Visit site