naked and touring???

LERecords

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
ok.. i have little experience beyond my years on the fz6.. but i have never really ridden a bike with no windscreen.. dad has a harley, but i think not.. soo.. I do some realativly long distance touring.. 300 miles a day max. might do a trip later this summer where it will be from hartford, ct to st. paul, mn back to hartford, ct..

so how is it touring.. lets hear some horor stories.. bugs, bee's, birds, rocks, and other road debris.. or is it amazing and i just should go nakend and enjoy???

oh and i can admit that long days on the bike take alot out of you.. is it worse with a naked?? let me know...

:thumbup:

Last edited:

davidsa1

Naked is more fun.
Reaction score
Visit site
The only time being naked bugs me is on long high speed rides (interstate).
If i'm out hitting the back roads hunting for some twisties (hard to find in Florida) it does not bother me at all. I go out quite often for 4 or 5 hours without problems.:thumbup:

scottsst

Reaction score
Visit site
I do long days on my Monster . its my making trouble bike . but I think a long day is 600 plus miles . and I really don't have any problems with it I will say the wind can take some out of you but I have never had a problem with anything else . just stop every so offten and take a break have a granola bar or a drink of water and keep on truckin

Hellgate

Moto Demi-God
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I rode my GS1100 all over the western US naked. Most bikes were then. All I needed was my tank bag, and a buffle bag bungeed to the seat and I was off. No big deal.

D-Mac

Distance Rider
Reaction score
Visit site
I've done some touring without a windshield. I definitely felt it in my shoulders and arms after a long day, but it's very doable. I suggest doing a few exercises to strengthen your upper body (if needed).