Valve clearance check

FZtraveler

Reaction score
Visit site
My 2006 only has 22,000 miles on it but has had a tick for a while. It runs like a striped ass ape but has been getting louder. I presume the valves are out of spec but from what I have read, this seems a little premature. I always run premium fuel so its not pre-detonation. Does anyone have any other suggestions on what might be the issue? I have plenty of mechanical experience on cars and dirt bikes but none on small displacement four cylinders. i want to check my clearance to start and have a shim kit and gasket for the valve cover already. Is there anything else I need...special tools, more gaskets, or procedures I should know about besides the obvious (changing coolant, plugs, and oil)? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PosterFZ6

Reaction score
Visit site
My 2006 only has 22,000 miles on it but has had a tick for a while. It runs like a striped ass ape but has been getting louder. I presume the valves are out of spec but from what I have read, this seems a little premature. I always run premium fuel so its not pre-detonation. Does anyone have any other suggestions on what might be the issue? I have plenty of mechanical experience on cars and dirt bikes but none on small displacement four cylinders. i want to check my clearance to start and have a shim kit and gasket for the valve cover already. Is there anything else I need...special tools, more gaskets, or procedures I should know about besides the obvious (changing coolant, plugs, and oil)? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have only done valve clearance check and adjustment on my Suzuki Boulevard cruiser. Mind you no shims were needed (different set up)

I would probably say to buy yourself a measuring tool for the clearance.