So a police officer almost killed me tonight.

Extremity

Junior Mint
Reaction score
www.echoplaneonline.com
Was riding to the gas station to grab some snacks and a pack of smokes. Passed a very easily spotted police officer on the way. I have a motorcycle license, registration, tag, etc. Nothing is expired and I was definitely not speeding, so I wasn't worried. I really don't care if I get pulled over because I know they can't pin anything on me.

Anyways, he pulled out (very dramatically, fishtailed a little and all that "I'm a cop with nothing to do right now" stuff) to follow me and I kept on going not thinking twice about it - I mean, his lights weren't on and he didn't have a siren on either, so why should I stop or slow down? About a minute later I catch him flying up behind me - I'm going 53 in a 50, and he's easily going 85. Before I know it he's on my ass and not showing any sign of slowing down. I'm not sure if he was trying to read my plate and wasn't paying attention, but 3 seconds later I hear brakes screeching and see a police car skidding out of control towards me. I yanked in the clutch, dropped down two gears, and had the throttle wide open faster than I ever imagined I would be able to, simultaneously rocketing forward and getting into the left lane to get out of his way. It's amazing how your instincts and pure skills come into play without even a fraction of an intentional "I'm going to downshift and accelerate right now!" thought going through your brain in a situation like this.