Share your greatest mistake so others can learn

Azrael

Reaction score
Visit site
I've been riding for 8+ years now, and something that took me a lot of time to get over, was to stop getting fixated on and copying the line a rider in front of me took, specially on a long, sharp turn. This was especially dangerous on fast runs with unfamiliar and less experienced riders who would take terrible lines and in spite of myself would end up mimicking them.

The one major accident I've had in my life was at age 20 when I saw the dude in front of me go too fast into a turn, start leaning too slow, then realise it, and then grab a fistful of brakes and go down. I lost what seemed like an eternity mimicking him, then leaned over again for real this time and shifted down 2 gears hoping the skid would be controllable. It wasn't. Had only a busted rib, surprisingly and some very shredded clothing.

FIZZER6

The Angry Blue Mantis
Reaction score
Visit site
#1. Know your equipment thoroughly, and trust it! It can do more than you think it can if you practice. Half way through a corner is no time for doubt and reaction..I know, after railing it round a bend and doubting the traction thereby leading to an off road excursion that could have ended very badly, but thankfully did not.

This is a good one! My riding coach always told me that if you get into a turn too hot, do not panic and assume you will lose traction. You can pull much more G's than you think as long as you don't lift throttle or hit the brakes! Even if you do happen to hit the limit of your tires and go down a low-side is ALWAYS better than a high-side or a face-plant into a ditch, tree or fence!

Ramarius

Two wheel addict
Reaction score
Visit site