Sand and turns..

Kingwu

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm not really experienced, i've only ridden up and down my driveway with my new Bike(yamahafz6:thumbup:) but before that only the basic rider's course. Now, I want to ride my bike to work tomorrow, but there are curves on the backroads, and I feel I would have to do some leaning. Also, i'm worried about sand on the road.

Any tips on riding and not dying? :rolleyes:

VEGASRIDER

100K Mile Member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
If you took the BRC from the MSF, the subject of loose surface debris were covered in your handbook that I hoped you kept and also in the video. It's important to be able to recognize them before hand rather than after the fact. Remember what they taught you about cornering. You should recognize the radius of the curve, surface condition and other highway users for every corner. You practiced that to a degree out on the range. In the event you encounter loose debris while you are leaned over in a curve, try to straighten the bike up to increase the surface traction between the tires and ground. Be very careful braking with loose surface debris such as sand and gravel, especially with the front brake. Although there are advanced braking techniques while cornering, with your limited experience, your best corrective action is to get that bike straightened up fast as possible, then slow down and brake if needed. Obviously having ABS would be great in these situations.

Enjoy your ride to and from work, I do every day. Wear your gear!

Last edited:

Kingwu

Reaction score
Visit site