New Yamaha YZF600R Thundercat 98 owner

smokey1005

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey My name is king I'm from Gainesville ga, just got me a Yamaha YZF 600 R Thundercat 98 this weekend for a good price nice little project to work on Im super excited and want to do some mod... But I'm new to motorcycling and don't know anything about fixing them. So need some help and some guidance... Here's a List of things I know it needs done
1.) new fairing
2.) carb news to be clean
3.) new battery
4.) and probably a full maintenance ( has been siting for a while)
5.) and speedometer not staying in place

Will post some pics in the morning if it stops raining

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

SandyN

Reaction score
Visit site
I've done the carbs on two Thundercats following very good instructions with pictures on the Thundercat forum. One had "suicide throttle", which accelerated as you closed the throttle due to a vacuum leak caused by misaligning the airbox clamps on the rubber hosing, and the other had blocked jets.

Just take your time and follow the instructions; it is not difficult.

View attachment 65668

Sent from my GT-I8190 using Tapatalk

Last edited:

smokey1005

Reaction score
Visit site
dd10830f1e6c17c2cf3882037231090f.jpg
60f8aa0e7c7434a0d5d308073a167e1b.jpg
b640d44fa03e5b968dbfb5bc83dbc0bd.jpg
a69b1b6b9c397b0665a907bcf189b062.jpg

smokey1005

Reaction score
Visit site
I've done the carbs on two Thundercats following very good instructions with pictures on the Thundercat forum. One had "suicide throttle", which accelerated as you closed the throttle due to a vacuum leak caused by misaligning the airbox clamps on the rubber hosing, and the other had blocked jets.

Just take your time and follow the instructions; it is not difficult.

View attachment 65668

What thundercat forum did you use?

smokey1005

Reaction score
Visit site