New member, need some advice

FIZSIX

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello everyone, new member here. I have a few questions for you guys if you dont mind. I recently purchased a 2006 Yamaha FZ6 (red) with 5k miles for $4,000 not including tax, tags, and title. Im a soldier currently deployed and didnt get a chance to view the bike in person, I have seen pictures and the bike looks brand new (other than some scratches on the right fairing from a non-rolling lay down) I also requested for the company to send me a video of it running and revving and all seems well.

My first questions to yall is, what do you think of the price, considering the amount of miles, bikes condition etc. My second question is do you think I chose a good year going with the 2006? From my understanding it is fuel injected which is good but doesnt have the newer instrument panel, ABS, improved swingarm, etc. I have also heard some complaints about the stock Dunlops that are on this bike, anything I should be aware of?

Im also already planning a bunch of upgrades/mods if yall could be so kind to point me in the right direction I would greatly preciate it. Considering I dont make much money at all, I would like to start with some quick, easy and inexpensive mods such as, eliminating the stock rear fender bringing in the rear turn signals closer to the plate. I also really like the look of the red rim strip if someone could let me know of a place that makes a quality product that would be great. I'm also considering removing the stock exhaust heat shield and painting it black untill I can find a set of affordable Scorpion Red power slip-ons. What would be a good flat black paint to use on this that will last and not scratch and or chip (might paint the forks and the radiator brackets the same color).