New Member from Souther Indiana

Circuitrider

Reaction score
Visit site
I've been lurking, searching, and reading for a few days so I thought I would introduce myself.

I am currently saving to buy a bike this fall. I take the MSF at the end of July and as long as my skills are appropriate I plan to get a FZ6. I'm 38 and have never owned a bike. I've had a quad and drove a Jeep for a few years but that is as close as I've ever been!

I grew up in a house where it was forbidden, then I was a poor college/grad student and then I married a Physician Assistant that took her first job in an Emergency Room. I have two great kids (both girls 7 and 3) and a crazy job (Pastor). We love to go boating in the summer. At this point in my life, 99% of what I do is for other people. The boat takes lots of TLC, I tow it, I drive it, I tow it home--so it's lots of fun for others and I enjoy seeing them happy. I need the bike.

Yesterday I went to a Yamaha dealership that has an 07 with 4200 miles for $5100. I'm going to have to be closer to $2900 and hopefully this fall I can find something. (When cash is in hand I'll ask this group for some help finding one!) I was just going to sit on the bike to make sure I could hold it up, feet hit the floor, etc. I fell in love. Everything I had read was true. The pics below are pretty funny. I was showing my 7 year old the bike and she said, 'That looks like a Night Fury' She was referring to "toothless" the dragon from the animated kids movie "How to Train Your Dragon." I attached a pic of the bike and the dragon for your enjoyment. So no matter what color I get, I'm guessing the name should be Night Fury?

Originally I was going to get a Ninja 250 starter bike then save for a Honda NC700x. After seeing the FZ6, I'm just going for that to begin with. I have no one to impress and I can stay out of the 7000rpm band pretty easily.