Loving the FZ!

Tahlen

Reaction score
Visit site
Well it has been a few months since I started riding and I thought I would jump back on here with a status report. 1300 miles later and I am loving being on two wheels! So far this bike is everything I had hoped it would be and any issues I have found with it have been thoroughly covered in the many reviews that can be found online.

I am adapting well enough to the touchy throttle. It still 'feels' a little top heavy compared to the 250 dual-sport I took the BRC on, but only when I screw up in some way. Photos attached, the SV650 is my brother-in-law's, who is my wingman in the twisties. A pair of Bluetooth intercoms makes riding 251% better. :D

I have been riding some beautiful winding roads in the areas around Spokane lately and have noticed that the "chicken strips" developing on my tires are larger on the front than the back. I was curious if this indicated an issue with my suspension setup. For what it's worth I just discovered that the previous owner must have set the preload to 6. From what I understand this is correct for 2 up, but I should be a 4 based on my ~180lbs w/ gear. Tire pressure is checked usually once a week and is set at 33 front/36 rear.

From what I have read elsewhere online this could also be caused by the geometry difference between the narrow front tire and wide back tire. Just wanted to get some opinions on whether this is an issue I should be worrying about or not.

Brackson

Touring Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I'm just going to get in here and say this before [MENTION=919]lytehouse[/MENTION] gets the chance. Save that pic for bike of the month, and keep trying to take more like it. If you haven't looked at the contest yet you can check out last month's contest, it just ended.

Carlos840

Reaction score
Visit site
Nice bike, and glad you are enjoying it.

You are correct regarding the rear preload, i weight 180 lbs without gear and get 30mm of sag with the shock on 5.