Has anyone plasti dipped their forks?(+wheels)

WatchThisPlay

Reaction score
Visit site
Stumbled across the FZ6R forum through a Google search and found some post of guys plasti dipping the bottom forks black. IMO it looks pretty good. Might be giving this a try in the near future. Has anyone done this here? Bad idea? I'm a college student and can't justify spending the money to power coat, this is just a fun inexpensive project for my motorcycle. Plus...two bros would come before powder coat LOL :thumbup:

Here is a rough sketch of the look I'm after(color matching is off).
6f9lFc4.png

Finished product to give you a better idea. Color is Metallic Anthracite Grey
6qTOjEZ.jpg

What do y'all think?

FIZZER6

The Angry Blue Mantis
Reaction score
Visit site
I just plasti-dipped my forks on my 2006 which also came silver powdercoat from the factory. I think it looks MUCH better, especially since my frame and engine are all black. I cleaned the forks well with rubbing alcohol before coating and used 7 coats of rattle can dip matte black.

10387537_10152699681901636_2132346854994803709_n.jpg

You will have to remove the forks from the bike to do this right or at very least remove the wheel, brakes and fender so you can rotate each fork 360 degrees to coat the entire thing.

WatchThisPlay

Reaction score
Visit site
I just plasti-dipped my forks on my 2006 which also came silver powdercoat from the factory. I think it looks MUCH better, especially since my frame and engine are all black. I cleaned the forks well with rubbing alcohol before coating and used 7 coats of rattle can dip matte black.

You will have to remove the forks from the bike to do this right or at very least remove the wheel, brakes and fender so you can rotate each fork 360 degrees to coat the entire thing.