macem29

Banned
Reaction score
Visit site
First off, I don't own an FZ6-yet. I'm not a newbie, prolly just a born again
newbie. Had a couple of RD350's (loved'm) then bought a brand new FZ600
in first year of production ('86) an awesome machine that I sold to buy
furniture when I decided to co-habitate with the wife. So I guess I'm a Yamaha
man. The furniture is long gone and now the wife is gone, so it's well past time
to get back on two wheels (20 years). I've been reading up on mid size sport/touring
machines and naturally was drawn to the FZ6. I love the look of
it, have sat comfortably on one for awhile at a bike show, but it's an
important decision I should make with my head, rather than my Yamaha fan
heart. I plan to use this bike as an everyday machine, and take a few long trips
per year, so it will have a touring windshield and some bags. I have a couple
of friends that I'll ride with, both saying to stay away from an inline four
machine if looking at any long touring. They have a WeeStrom and a Versys,
both twins, with fairly narrow engine setups, and comparable machines
to the FZ6.

My Questions:

1- with feet on the pegs for a long cruise, are the legs in or out of the wind?

2- on long rides, how is the groin area? feel stretched from straddling that wide engine package? or is it ok?

3- I've read about the engine guard/highway peg mod, anyone done it and used it on long cruises?
is there a heat issue on the ankles and inner calfs? again, how's the groin?

These are things I can't figure out by sitting on one or test riding, they take
time to understand. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I'm thinking this
may be an issue with the upright riding position of the FZ6. With clip on bars
and rear set pegs on a pure sport machine, engine width is not an issue.
I don't want to buy one and discover the engine width is truly an issue, nor do
I want to buy an ugly-ass Kawasaki or Suzuki.

Last edited: