Extendable windscreen? Soft bags?

saveitk

Reaction score
Visit site
Guys, I get beat up by the wind when riding over 60, I remember seeing an attachable windscreen (attaches to your existing windscreen)... anyone have any idea about these things?

Also, how about some soft bags, any suggestions? BTW, I'm 6' 6" so maybe nothing will help? I could've used something tonight, very windy here in Dallas. I have the Puid bubble smoked screen which helps a little, but I need something much larger.

Thanks!

Kevin

Last edited:

Scab

Nobody special
Reaction score
Visit site

saveitk

Reaction score
Visit site
Now that fellas, is how to help someone, I appreciate the thorough answer and links.. much appreciated!

I believe this is what you are looking for: Laminar Products for Yamaha FZ-6

I have no personal experience with them so I cannot comment on their effect.

As for luggage, I have these on my FZ:
http://www.newenoughhp.com/luggage/saddlebags_/nelson_rigg/cl1000_standard_motorcycle_saddlebags.html
http://www.newenoughhp.com/luggage/tail_bags/nelson_rigg/cl100_motorcycle_standard_sport_tail_pack.html

Though, I did have to fabricate some supports to make the saddlebags sit like I wanted them to.

outkast

Reaction score
Visit site
I recently fitted the yamaha touring screen to the bike. Its 4 inches taller than standard and does a good job of keeping the wind/rain off.

Unseen

Reaction score
Visit site
Always try to do a test ride before buying another screen. It's very dependant on your height. For instance the FZ6 touring screen did not work for me. It just put me in the turbulence resulting in more noise. So i've remounted the original screen and sold the touring screen.

steveindenmark

Older Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Maybe you would like to consider this as well. It is a windscreen mod that I did on my FZ6. I found that going higher with the screen does not stop turbulance, so i went lower instead and it works wonderfully.