Engine Little bit boggy when cold.

twobob1

Reaction score
Visit site
When I start my fz6 from cold I blip the throttle and it almost sounds like its running on only a few cylinders I think it idles fine its just when I rev a little, if I leave it a minute or two it starts to rev fine. Im new to 600's and just wanted to know if this is normal. Its done 26k miles and has apparently had its valve clearance check and new plugs. The other thing I've noticed is there is a a bit of vibration noise around the 2-3k rev range, I have checked all the plug leads are on properly and spark plugs are seated tightly.

My main concern is when I blip throttle a bit (like 1-2k revs not a lot) from cold it almost wants to bog a bit and doesn't sound right like exhaust stutter until a while later. Is this just the bike warming up?.

Last edited:

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Generally the mix is enriched when the bike is cold. There are sensors that are used to tell the ECM/ECU give more fuel when cold. If the bike exhibits this behavior only when cold there may be a problem with the sensor. Don't assume that the valve lash has been checked unless you have solid knowledge that this has been done. This is one of the most important engine adjustments and the first one is the most critical as these engines generally maintain good valve lash specifications after the first one.
Other checks would be plugs and associated wires. Throttle body adjustment.
There was also a recall on the Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) on the older 05 FZ6. If you search the forum you will strike it rich for info on service for these items. :)

Last edited:

Ital

Reaction score
Visit site
Mine does the same thing. Basically if I floor it as soon as I start it, it will bog down, not that I want to do that anyway, if I let it hit the temperature 100+F then it is fine.