beginners bike?

FZ6PURPLE

Reaction score
Visit site
I am real and I am sorry I have not been able to be on the site and post pics but my dad had a heart attack, he just got out of the hospital today :(. I would never start with a fz6 I cannot even move it from one spot to another. I will try a smaller bike hopefully soon since my priority right now is my father, but I will try to go to the yamaha store again and take a pic with the bikes the sales person suggested (Honda CBR250 even though it is still a little tall and heavy for me and the Rebel CMX250 this is a better fit for me I think). I will keep in touch and hopefully with a pic :)

Last edited:

Grodd70

Reaction score
Visit site
I think an honest approach to the definition of "beginner" is required. I started riding two half years ago and started on a Ducati baby monster 695. Then a Ninja 650...now to the Fz. I think all are fine for a mature (I'm 42) person with basic skills on two wheels dirt bikes and lots of time just on bicycles.

Take my significant other...she isn't comfortable on a mountain bike...i wouldn't feel great with her on a Ninja 250... Much less a Ninja 650 SV650 or even a Ninja 500...she would be a true beginner...some skills I'd say novice. For a true beginner I'd say a 250 Rebel type bike...even a little Ninja 250 can take you from 0 to ouch very quick.

People who are used to cars have no concept how quick bikes are. take the ugly but awsome Ninja 500 it runs 1/4 miles in the mid low 13's...or an SV650 or Ninja 650 those accelerate at about same speed as an original AC COBRA...beginner bikes...slower in the two wheel world of zx14's but still really quick in practical terms.

Ssky0078

Reaction score
Visit site