600 mile service -Expectations?

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi all,
(I'm bring my FZ6 in for it's 1st service next week at approx. 550 miles. I'm returing to the dealership I bought the bike at (Motoworld of El Cajon, San Diego CA) and I'm planning on waiting with the bike and watchig the quoted "up to 2-3 hour service". "

WHAT should I look for & expect to be done?:confused: I'm mainly sticking around to try and learn a little about the bike from the tech's as I'm new to bikes...I'm also in love with it and plan to make sure they treat her with the respect she is due....:spank:

THANKS!

Last edited:

BranNwebster

The UNO Master
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Mine was 200 dollars and they made a couple of adjustments, cables, and thats about it. They said they change the oil but it was questionable. Mark your oil filter with a knife or screwdriver. Some places claim that you can't be in the maintenance area because of insurance reasons so you may not be able to watch. You might want to start a tool collection if you don't have much, there are a lot of helpful people here, and manuals.

FooFazer

Reaction score
Visit site
Do it yourself....

1) Change oil & filter
2) Check nuts and bolts
3) Save a few 100 dollars
4) Ride bike
Do you have to pay for the 600 service? In the UK it's free as long as you return to the dealer that sold the bike, you only pay for the oil and filter.
I marked the filter and specified Yamalube, the filter was changed and I received what was left in the container.

Hellgate

Moto Demi-God
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
^^^ Yup, in the US we have to pay. I agree with what others have said, mark your filter or better yet, DIY. Its not too hard and a great way to begin learning more about your bike. The bonus part is you can save a fair amount of money in the process. Just be sure to save your receipts for the oil and the filter.

Reaction score
Visit site