1000 miles in <24 hours?

D-Mac

Distance Rider
Reaction score
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I bought my FZ6 as a 'do it all' bike. I've had it a month (exactly) and haven't had as much chance to ride as I would like (job, kids, all that stuff - I live across the street from my office so no real commute). I did the 600 mile maintenance about a week ago and am nearing 1200 miles now. Bike runs great.

So now that the bike is broken in and I'm familiar with it, I'm ready to try something "fun". Ever since I started riding I've been very interested in doing an Iron Butt ride (if you don't know what this is I'd encourage you to check out www.ironbutt.com) Basically, I'm interested in trying their minimum certification ride (Saddlesore 1000) which requires you to ride 1000+ documented miles in less than 24 hours. I'd be doing this solo.

Although many riders have done these rides, I was surprised at how few FZ6s have been used. I think there were only 3-4 last time I checked (all but one were 1000 mile rides - the other was a Border-to-border ride from Canada to Mexico in under 50 hours). I searched and found a short thread from back in March on this subject, but it seems that no one on the forum has done a certified ride (correct me if I'm wrong!) I know we're not riding Goldwings or BMW touring bikes, but the FZ6 seems more than capable of this kind of stuff. Obviously, it would be more fun to ride the twisties, but this kind of ride will require a lot of droning on the slab. It's the goal of just doing it that motivates me here.

My main problem is daylight. I don't like riding at night (my wife less so) so I'll probably leave super early (3 am) and try to get home shortly after dark the same day. Sticking to the highway, I think I can complete it in 17-18 hours or so.