Going Left? Then Steer Right! - Countersteer

dstaffx

Reaction score
Visit site
Counter steering!

This is something that I’m sure the people on here that go to track days and stuff will be familiar with. It has saved my ass on more than one occasion on the road so I thought I’d share it.

If you read the attached article I (poorly) scanned in it explains it all.
Open it in pdf from here : http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16323210/Counter steer.pdf

Some of the racers here might have something to add.

It’s worth a try next time that you’re out. The smallest pressure on the palm of your hand while turning and you feel the bike drop so much faster/quicker responce.

In case anyone is reading this thinking “I’m not trying that, I’ll leave this to the experts”. Let me tell you I am no expert. I have never got the knee down or done a track day myself. I just ride at my own pace for fun.

Anyway. Best of luck.

Oh and I hope to lose my track virginity this year.;)
View attachment 34405
:thumbup:

Kazza

Administrator aka Mrs Prebstar
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Many people STILL don't get countersteering and yet they use it when they ride without even knowing. I've always understood it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Decent write up.

One note: When the article talks about standing the bike up in a right hand turn and leaving the road and standing it up in a left hand turn and running into oncoming traffic the writer is talking about driving on the left side of the road. Like England or Oz.
The opposite would apply for people who ride on the right side of the road.

Another note: Counter steering is not always the way to steer the bike. At very slow speeds the bike will track in the direction the front wheel is turned and counter steering will not be effective.