Missing rear wheel alignment nuts/parts...?

markersniffen

Reaction score
www.marksniffen.com
Hey all,

So I decided to clean and lube my chain for the first time today aand I noticed that there seemed to be some missing parts at the end of my swingarm. On the right, both nuts and the plate(washer thing? Not sure what to call it...), and on the left, just one nut. See pics... From what I understand those pieces keep my rear wheel aligned...so I'm assuming riding my bike in it's current condition is not wise...

Question is, where should I look for these parts? Should a dealer have them? Or should I look online somewhere? They ARE important, right? Any help would appreciated.

This is only my second post here--I just got the bike in June after passing MSF safety course in May. Been loving it so far but this has me confused as to how this happened and a little nervous that I've been riding with it like that...I'm new to bikes but don't be gentle. =P

motojoe122

No ride is too far...
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Hey Mark,

Those are your chain adjustment nuts and backing plate you are missing. A dealer should have them or at least be able to order them.

They are important and should be replaced before you ride again.

Again, congrats on the bike. The best way to learn about your bike is to work on it yourself:thumbup:

Joe

thethendi

Reaction score
Visit site
Same thing happened to me shortly after I got my bike - the locknut probably vibrated loose and the whole piece came out while you were riding somewhere.

This happened to me while on a long interstate ride. At a service station, I noticed that entire piece was missing; there was nothing I could do, so I continued to my destination, and then came back home (about 350 miles :spank:). You should replace the piece before you go riding, although someone more experienced can tell you if and why exactly it's actually dangerous or not.