So, I lost my job today

subyexpress

Reaction score
Visit site
Today I went to work. Worked hard like I always do. About 10:30 my boss comes in and tells me that the company has decided to not let me work this summer (I'm an intern/co-op) due to the economy, and that today would be my last day. I think it's pretty crappy considering to have a decent job lined up for the summer you've really got to have it all done halfway through the spring semester, and this week was my first full week of summer work.

So, my boss tells me to wrap everything up that I can and touch base with all of the engineers I have been working on things for to get everything taken care of. It's not like they fired me or something because of performance or anything and they know I'm not hostile, so you know I have the rest of the day to take care of things. I figured I would just come home and tell my girlfriend face to face, also because it is our 2 year anniversary. I really wasn't going to say anything to anyone until this evening, but it didn't exactly work out like that.

My best friend who just moved in with us had called me to ask who to make the rent check out to, shortly after I found out, so I told him but specifically said that I wanted to tell Whitney on my own when I got home and I knew he would honor that. So for whatever reason she had e-mailed me at work and I responded and was just so worked up, and she asked how my day was going, I told her in the e-mail. Then after I sent the e-mail back I tried calling her since I figured she was still at her desk, and she didn't answer. So then I continued wrapping things up with people away from my desk.