Renting vs buying racesuit, what would you do?

raja777m

Ride like you own it..!
Reaction score
Visit site
Hi guys,
This might be a very odd question..!

I just started riding, like to go for long drives, twisties if possible, and occasional (call it very rare) track days.
Should I buy the Tracksuit and boots worth 800-1000$ (I'm buying for less off of craigslist) or rent them 50-100$ per day at the track (and no suit for the rest of my rides)? I'm :confused:.
IMHO our FZ6, is a semi-sport beast, but does it look good/necessary to wear a tracksuit all the time, even if I want to go to other city to meet my friends (few hundred miles away)? or just stick to regular gear and buy seperate kneepads and elbow pads/armour?

I'm not sure I'll go for a supersport in future vs a Harley and don't know how long will I keep this bike, based on weather conditions for my next job (as I'm a contractor, Programmer), I might or might not keep the bike for more than 2 yrs.

https://www.google.com/search?q=kne...2.1406j0j7&sourceid=chrome&es_sm=122&ie=UTF-8
and
https://www.google.com/webhp?source...1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=elbow pads for motorcycle

vs

https://www.mxmegastore.com/alpines...fG8PujvBqDQ36TCojFZMjLWtMidGGiZTCBRoCsy3w_wcB

and

SIDI Cobra Air Boots - RevZilla

Should I spend the money or suit or buy individual gear?
How useful they will be? Which one returns me more money if incase I want to sell them? I need a brotherly advice..! :)

vr46fan

Reaction score
www.facebook.com
Gear is always the best investment for riding. A good leather suit like that good save you its price several times over in medical bills. If you don't really plan on going to the track, maybe buy a two piece suit? Also make sure you include a good back protector in there too! Even a higher priced protector is cheaper than having spinal injuries.

MattR302

Awesomeness, Inc.
Reaction score
Visit site
Hi guys,
This might be a very odd question..!