Q About Motech Bar Risers

Ant

06 FZ6
Reaction score
Visit site
Installed them on my 06, (1" up/1" back) no problem with cables took 10 minutes.

Anyhoo, I noticed that there is a gap between the clamps that hold the handlebar down after they are tightened and am wondering if this is normal?

Ant

06 FZ6
Reaction score
Visit site
Here ye be:

BARS1.jpg

BARS2.jpg

Botch

I.Y.A.A.Y.A.S!!
Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
That's perfectly normal. If there was no gap, that's something to worry about, as then you don't know if cinching down the bolts actually tightened the handlebar, or just the two faces of the clamp.

Ant

06 FZ6
Reaction score
Visit site
So give us some feedback on them.

Ah, forgot about that:D

The 1" up and 1" back make a definate difference to me. My arms and hands hardly bothered me at all and my overall sitting comfort is so much better.

Granted I am a 2 week newbie and am still getting used to things but I can easily feel a difference for the better and it makes my riding that much more fun.

bcityroller

Gear Whore
Reaction score
Visit site
So I have bar risers on my bike - not sure what kind as they came with it from the previous owner and I just left them on (and they're just up not up and back).

Obviously there needs to be a little gap or you're not clamping the bar but mine is barely noticeable (think 1/16" or less). It looks to me like your risers came with new top clamp pieces but mine just reused the stock ones - wonder if you could do the same and eliminate some of that gap, assuming you'd rather not have it.

Incidentally, I like my ergos with the risers but have no basis for comparison - I've been debating about removing them and trying it out for comparison but it seems like why do the work if "it ain't broke"

Ant

06 FZ6
Reaction score
Visit site
So here's a shot of my bars with the risers for comparison purposes as a follow-up to my earlier comment

That looks pretty snug.