Saddlebag mounting question with stock exhaust

blcrider

Reaction score
Visit site
I just bought a set of cheaper saddlebags and they touch the heat shield slightly towards the back. Does anybody have experience with how hot the shield gets and if it gets hot enough to melt the saddlebag or gear inside of the bag? This is my first time dealing with underseat exhaust and it makes me nervous, about to leave on a 2500 mile trip. I see that some people use a support, but will they be ok without a support? Any input would be greatly appreciated. thanks for your time.

The Dude

abides
Reaction score
Visit site
I don't think you have anything to worry about. I have stock pipes, but no saddlebags yet. The heat shield should keep them cool. I don't know how hot you'd have to get to melt them, but I've touched the heat shields and haven't been burned. Even with the bags restricting airflow, I don't think they'll get hot enough. Keep in mind, the heat shield is plastic, so it's not like it's going to get super hot itself w/o melting.

What kind of bags did you get? And do they have a pad that goes between the bike and the bag? A lot of them have those pads to prevent scratching the paint. I think the pad alone would be enough to protect the bag from heat. Even without it, I've seen plenty of pictures on here of guys running bags with no supports (even fully loaded and sagging down on the heat shields with quite a bit of pressure).

I'm planning to get bags in the next few months and will probably just stick pvc pipe on the passenger pegs as supports. If you're concerned, and traveling solo, I'd recommend going that route. I think it's 3/4" pvc pipe that fits. You can probably find some details searching the forum. Just keep it classy and spray paint them black. We don't want other motorist to think FZ6 owners are uncivilized.:thumbup:

Fishwiz4

Reaction score
Visit site