how to tie down fz6?

astpierre

Reaction score
Visit site
Newbie here. I am picking up fz6 with a truck that has a 6.5 foot box. Wondering how to properly load and tie down the bike. Is it best to tie down bike straight with tailgate open or to jam the front wheel in the corner and load it sideways to close the tailgate? How tight do you tie the bike down? Do you leave kickstand down? Do you lock the steering? Any help here is appreciated...thanks

dstaffx

Reaction score
Visit site
Not too sure about most of your questions but just make sure you either tie down the wheels and not the top of the bike because if you tie the top of the bike and hit a bump in the truck the bike suspension could compress loosening your straps and then you'll be left crying in the middle of the road with a smashed up FZ6

or

If you do have to tie the top of the bike compress the suspension as much as possible as you tie it down.

Good Luck

macem29

Banned
Reaction score
Visit site
on the front, you can tie to the triple clamps and pull the suspension down as far as
you are able...on the rear, I use the passenger peg brackets...don't use the center stand
as this prevents you from compressing the suspension....use 4 point tie down, I use the
steering lock and put the bike in gear, do the front first..tieing to the wheels is useless

edit: and as for in the truck, put it in diagonally and try to get that tailgait up

Last edited:

krid80

journeyman of epic status
Elite Member
Reaction score
www.surdykeharley.com
on the front, you can tie to the triple clamps and pull the suspension down as far as
you are able...on the rear, I use the passenger peg brackets...don't use the center stand
as this prevents you from compressing the suspension....use 4 point tie down, I use the
steering lock and put the bike in gear, do the front first..tieing to the wheels is useless